RE: 4th Path Chris M 4/14/21 6:36 AM
RE: 4th Path Chris M 4/14/21 6:49 AM
RE: 4th Path Ni Nurta 4/14/21 9:11 AM
RE: 4th Path Luka Kljaic 5/20/21 4:10 AM
RE: 4th Path George S 5/20/21 5:59 AM
Will G, modified 2 Years ago at 4/14/21 2:42 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 4/7/21 7:51 PM

4th Path

This forum has been a really valuable resource for me over the years and helped me make quick progress. I hope this post may help others do the same.

I started practicing Vipassana in 2017 in the hopes of overcoming low-grade depression that I had had since late childhood but that really began to cripple my functioning by early adulthood. I’m 28 now. Some gateways into dharma were interests in philosophy, art, music, and regular use of psychedelics, particularly psilocybin. Some of my first relevant experiences occurred shortly after starting to practice but were facilitated by psychedelics and painting, and fell into the “no-mind” category, which is to say they involved the prolonged disappearance of any sense of self or awareness, followed by a vivid re-congealing of self-identification. I also had an experience on psilocybin years before I started meditating that was very scary, in which I thought I had dissociated or lost my mind, but looking back was actually similar to some of my experiences in 3rd path. I’m mapping my progress to the Progress of Insight/MCTB maps, but throughout the process I was much more focused on specific insights, and besides the fact that I was clearly cycling through the stages, the actual path moments usually weren’t obvious. That being said, knowledge of the maps relatively early on was helpful, and I think it actually made me progress faster. My assessment is just based on my own experience, and best guesses. I’ve never had a teacher assess me.

A+P
- Jan 2018