Can someone help me, or point me in the right direction?

Victor L, modified 2 Years ago at 1/8/22 1:06 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 1/8/22 1:06 PM

Can someone help me, or point me in the right direction?

First post and a new member. I'm kind wandering aimlessly in terms of a practice at this point. I've been meditating for a few years, daily, and I can't shake the feeling of having no direction. 

I've done enough reading to know that both "this is all there is" and also that I need some kind of roadmap/guidance/advice on where I am and how continue. So, I guess I feel kind of stuck. 

I also have never been to a retreat, had a meditation teacher or been part of a community. I find that incredibly difficult because I think I'd need to know that the person has actually attained what they claim? 

Anyway, just hoping someone can help me here, and apologies if I've put this in the wrong section. I couldn't decide where it would best belong! 
Martin, modified 2 Years ago at 1/8/22 1:32 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 1/8/22 1:32 PM

RE: Can someone help me, or point me in the right direction?

Nice to meet you, Victor. 

What books have you read that you liked? What kind of meditation do you do, and what do you like about it? Why do you meditate?

I'm asking these questions because my guess is that the answers will lead to better responses from the people on this forum.
Victor L, modified 2 Years ago at 1/8/22 2:08 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 1/8/22 2:08 PM

My meditation is still pretty basic I guess. I focus on my breath and sit. Sometimes I think about topics from the books I've read and things like that, but it's not really structured or anything like that. 

As far as books, it's a pretty diverse range. I've read things by Kornfield, Pema Chodron, Dalai Lama and others. In that kind of area I've also enjoyed Sogyal Rinpoche.