RE: Aviva's Practice Log Aviva HaMakom 3/14/23 10:50 AM
RE: Aviva's Practice Log Aviva HaMakom 3/22/23 10:37 PM
RE: Aviva's Practice Log Aviva HaMakom 1/13/24 9:11 PM
RE: Aviva's Practice Log ‎ ‎Nihila 1/14/24 5:08 AM
RE: Aviva's Practice Log Sha-Man! Geoffrey 1/14/24 7:08 AM
Aviva HaMakom, modified 1 Year ago at 12/18/22 5:35 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 12/18/22 5:35 AM

Aviva's Practice Log

I could not log back in with my previous name- I wrote that I was trying to go from a severe ADHD case to being a hardcore samatha yogi. I think in the time since that post I've made some very good progress. I am studying with Tina Rasmussen, having done two solo retreats guided by her and one 14-day in-person retreat with her in August 2022. I have just been accepted into her mentoship program, where I will work with her for a year.

I have been working on writing up my complete August retreat experience- it was very wild and I am proud of myself for having gotten through six weeks of the Dark Night without blowing up any part of my life or losing my mind.

I reached the A&P at the very end of my solo 5-day retreat, on Day 7 of my 9-day solo retreat, and on Day 4/5 of my 14-day retreat. I also reached it after around 30 days of intensive home samatha practice between Thanksgiving and New Years of last year. I never switched to insight practices at this point, which I now realize was perhaps not the best course of action.

I was so focused on samatha- especially influenced by the fact that my teacher's lineage is with Pa-Auk Sayadaw, proponent of ultra-hard jhanas with the strictest standards of mastery, and also utterly certain that the wet path is the way of the historical Buddha. First master jhana to the highest level you can, and only then turn to vipassana.