Training Perception?

Mind Body Spirit, modified 11 Months ago at 5/16/23 1:48 AM
Created 11 Months ago at 5/16/23 1:47 AM

Training Perception?

I'm interested in practicing meditation alongside exercises in perception.

To be specific, I think it's quite easy to see that perception can be measured with 3 fundamental and independent components: scope, detail & freedom.
Scope regards the boundaries of perception. Detail regards the level of scrutiny. Freedom regards freedom from presumptions/assumptions with which a person may fool themselves, rather than confirm their facts through more rigorous means.

I'm fairly new to meditation, but I think that the two exercises (the exercise below + mindfulness) may synergize well. I was hoping some curious minds might help me explore this idea.
So, this is an exercise I've come up with: whilst you're walking around, observe your surroundings by finding a previously unnoticed object, scrutinizing it's details & identifying any assumptions made about that object. Start off making singular observations until you feel you can progress to connecting two observations at a time. Once you feel you've mastered connecting two observations at a time, move onto 3 and so on...

So, if you have the time, want a bit of fun or are just curious, why not try this with me for some time? I'd really appreciate seeing how other people find the exercise.
thumbnail
Dream Walker, modified 11 Months ago at 5/16/23 7:13 AM
Created 11 Months ago at 5/16/23 7:13 AM

RE: Training Perception?

Why not make a journal and report back to us how its going week by week so we all know?
Or did you want someone else to do that for you?
Good Luck,
​​​​​​​~D
Mind Body Spirit, modified 11 Months ago at 5/17/23 12:53 AM
Created 11 Months ago at 5/17/23 12:53 AM

I'm more than happy to share my progress. I think it would be very helpful if multiple people tried & reported their progress.