Advice on dealing with stress and sleep

Sam Benthal, modified 10 Months ago at 6/13/23 7:09 PM
Created 10 Months ago at 6/13/23 7:09 PM

Advice on dealing with stress and sleep

Hi, first time poster.

Problem: work stress has for the last several weeks led me to constantly waking up in the middle of the night, often times with a lot of anxiety. This then sometimes keeps me awake the rest of the night. I have no big stress during the day or issues falling asleep. I'm wondering are there particular practices during the day/middle-of night that may help with this. 

Background: I've been meditating for about eight months, typically an hour in the evening mostly just breath meditation. I find it helpful and enjoyable, but obviously my subconscious is still not full on board emoticon I often try to just lay in bed and use noting or breath meditation to calm done. This helps a little, but I'm usually so tired/stressed to keep it going or to be effective. I'll be attending my second 10-day course next month, but I'm wondering if there's anything else I should be trying to do that can help me get a good night sleep (other than quit my job hah).
Martin, modified 10 Months ago at 6/13/23 7:45 PM
Created 10 Months ago at 6/13/23 7:45 PM

RE: Advice on dealing with stress and sleep

Regular cardio exercise, during the day, like running, riding a bike fast, or swimming often helps. For some reason, outdoor exercise seems to be particularly effective. If you do wake up, counting backward from 100 is surprisingly effective for many people. My wife swears by it and says she almost never gets all the way to zero before drifting off. Also, getting up and having warm milk and something light to eat, like a piece of toast, works well for me. 

Meditation can actually increase stress and overthinking at times, and so it's useful to have ordinary things like diet and exercise in place to keep us on an even keel. 
thumbnail
Jim Smith, modified 10 Months ago at 6/13/23 10:32 PM