A grab bag of strange experiences from meditating without the theory

Formless Meow, modified 10 Months ago at 6/25/23 4:54 PM
Created 10 Months ago at 6/25/23 4:54 PM

A grab bag of strange experiences from meditating without the theory

Hey all! This is my first post so bear with me if I am in some way stating simple stuff here, but after having just read Daniel Ingram's book I'm now getting the sense that what I previously thought was totally normal for everyone may be a positive result of my meditation practice. The vast majority of my meditation practice for my entire life has been simple mindfulness, as that came into favor in the early 00s. I enjoyed riding that wave but did so in a highly unskilled manner, simply focusing on the breath and movement of my thoughts most of the time. Even though I've been meditating for nearly 15 years, I still feel I have much to learn. I hope this is the correct place for this post.

My experiences, ordered by estimated time since my first sit. Feel free to interpret through the lens of any school since I have yet to choose a path to focus on:

2 Months in: Strange static and orbs seen from behind my closed eyelids. Any sort of tightening my awareness on a specific orb made all of them begin to vanish.

~7-9 months in:  Felt like I was able to see through my closed eyelids into a dim grayscale version of reality. This has happened many dozens of times since then over the years, slowly shifting to images with more color and a wider field of view.

~3 years: Felt a very strange shift in my perception of hearing and space. It was as if I recognized for the first time where I was, and as if I was seeing the room I was meditating in for the very first time, even though I myself arranged all of the furniture before my eyes (was meditating with my eyes open).