Stuck(ish) in a weird phase (Shock me like electric eels)

Decaf Wolf, modified 9 Months ago at 7/31/23 2:24 PM
Created 9 Months ago at 7/31/23 2:24 PM

Stuck(ish) in a weird phase (Shock me like electric eels)

My practice has been in a strange place since I returned from a Goenka retreat at the end of January, and I wanted to see if anyone has been in a similar situation or possibly has any advice. It's certainly not a spiritual emergency or anything, it just seems a bit odd to me. 

I've been practicing for about eight years and have made a great deal of progress, though I have not hit stream entry. About two years ago, I slipped into the first Jhana on retreat and there were real fireworks, incredible visuals, loads of spasms and shaking, indescribable joy, etc. Since then, I've been able to consistently stabilize concentration and the breath and can usually slip into the jhanas without too much effort. 

The retreat in January contained many episodes of energy and light coursing through and exploding in the body, and over the course of two days, a series of acute fear clustery panic attack swarmy things buzzed out of my system. For the first time, I was also able to sit in effortless concentration for hours at a time, with tiny little thoughts swimming by lazily every few minutes, like fish swimming around a statue at the bottom of the ocean. By the end, I was experiencing very high equanimity.