Lack of sleep and dread

thumbnail
Jon Messner, modified 8 Months ago at 8/6/23 8:49 PM
Created 8 Months ago at 8/6/23 8:46 PM

Lack of sleep and dread

Hello! I recently had this question hidden in another thread, and Martin advised I create a new topic, so here goes!...

I have a pretty long history of practice, albeit self taught (meaning: I have no idea what I'm doing).
Since 2020, I upped my sitting to somewhere in the neighborhood of 20 to 30 hours/ week. For much of that time, I was counting my breaths. However, recently I stopped (at the advice of a teacher) to just focus on the breath.
I am a small business owner (stress!), have a side job (college track coach), and I am single, so I am able to make my work schedule around my sitting schedule. I have never been on retreat.
For the past few years, I have been having darker and darker thoughts. I've alywas had a battle with sadness, and at first, I thought it was just me getting older, being a busines owner, single, etc. But something felt different about it.

Anyways, the last 2 weeks, to try and build longer term 'momentum' and 'stability', I averaged 5.5 hours/day over 11 days. It was pretty intense... Towards the end of the 2 weeks I was having trouble sleeping (only a few hours each night) and feelings of intense dread. I am on 2 day 'break' (1 hour yesterday and only 15 minutes today) and I feel (much!) better.

​​​​​​​I'm looking forward to getting back into my practice tomorrow, but I am a bit concerned about sleep and dark feelings, and would appreciate any feedback! Thank you!

kettu, modified 8 Months ago at 8/7/23 3:08 AM
Created 8 Months ago at 8/7/23 3:06 AM

RE: Lack of sleep and dread

Hi,

as I only read your post above, my ideas are very limited and general. They are also not my ideas but gathered and got from wherever during years of wondering what life is. I'm not anyones teacher of anything. So discard as needed, use what seems useful.