Does anyone have any solid resources to start experimenting with tummo?

thumbnail
Sha-Man! Geoffrey, modified 5 Months ago at 11/28/23 7:08 AM
Created 5 Months ago at 11/28/23 7:08 AM

Does anyone have any solid resources to start experimenting with tummo?

Hey all,

I'm wondering if anyone has any resources (books, podcasts, YT videos, etc) about getting started with a tummo practice. The goal is mostly to have some fun, experiment with energy and visualization (my background is mostly vispassana, non-dual, and some jhanas. So this would be my first real dive into this stuff unless you count metta), and to keep warm this chilly winter at the monastery! I've always really enjoyed having a secondary low-stakes novel meditation technique as a sandbox to play in. In the past I would do something like 1 hour vispassana, 20 minutes something fun, but now my times are more like 3 hours vipassana and 1 hour something fun.

If anyone is really well versed in energy practices, I'd love to hear your thoughts and experiences with how things like tummo fit into the bigger picture of energy practices (like if I use fire in the winter to keep warm, do i use water in the summer to keep cool? Can you go full elemental? Are the energies like qi/kundalini/tummo/reki/metta basically getting at the same thing?)
Olivier S, modified 5 Months ago at 11/28/23 7:20 AM
Created 5 Months ago at 11/28/23 7:20 AM

RE: Does anyone have any solid resources to start experimenting with tummo?

Hey Geoffrey,

I'm not well verse in energy practices, but I've heard good things about this book: https://wisdomexperience.org/product/bliss-inner-fire/

Perhaps worth checking out.

Best,
​​​​​​​Olivier
thumbnail
Jim Smith, modified 5 Months ago at 11/28/23 8:54 AM
Created 5 Months ago at 11/28/23 8:54 AM