Should I start practicing insight meditation considering my mental health?

Lorenzo Galli, modified 3 Months ago at 1/6/24 11:27 AM
Created 3 Months ago at 1/6/24 11:27 AM

Should I start practicing insight meditation considering my mental health?

SUMMARY: I've had mental health issues in the past, including a sort of hypo-mania, and I'm wondering if insight meditation practice is suitable for me.

Hello everybody,
I've been practicing mindfulness meditation intermittently for the past 16 years, starting when I was 17. 
I always used it more as a means to fight stress and cope with the severe health problems I had. I learned to focus better and not to identify with my thoughts between other things.
My health issues lead me to have three liver transplants due to a recurring auto-immune disease. After the last transplant, one year ago, primarily due to a combination of anxiety for the possibility of death and an abrupt cessation of and withdrawal from an anxiolytic, I experienced a very unpleasant altered state: I had the feeling of being stuck in a simulation that my mind was running, which was controlling what I and others were saying and doing. Sometimes, it felt like I was stuck in time, and time wasn't passing, but mostly being in a simulation.
As soon as I resumed the benzodiazepine, I felt ok, and I didn't have this problem anymore. My psychiatrist also gave some antidepressants and stabilizers - however, in very low doses.
I didn't feel like I was in a simulation anymore. Still, in the following months, I had a few episodes of hypo-mania, where I was a bit disconnected from reality and feeling grandiose. 
Things got better and better. I managed to reduce the doses of psychopharmacological drugs to the minimum, and I'm leading a happy life.