Plantguy's Practice Log 1

plantguy *, modified 3 Months ago at 1/21/24 4:37 AM
Created 3 Months ago at 1/21/24 4:37 AM

Plantguy's Practice Log 1

Hello everyone, I have wanted to set up a log for some time now in the hopes of feedback and accountability for myself.

I've been practicing for around 4 years. In that time i've never been truly consistent and able to stick with one technique / tradition for more than 3 month. I was always out for fast progress, and frankly that was extremely exhausting. My main practice nowadays is MIDL. I don't know how familiar everyone is with that so i'll try my best to express myself in my own words.

The motivation for my practice has changed from trying to improve myself in some way to really wanting to suffer less. The last year has been quite difficult and i just noticed the times where i practiced were easier all around. There's also some excitement about really deeply getting to know the experience of a human being from an experiental perspective.

Meditation has uncovered some serious psychological issues around attachment that i'm also working on with IPF (Ideal parent figure protocol) in parallel.

In the MIDL system i'm currently doing Mindfulness of Breathing. I'm trying to work somewhat systematically. That's why i'll be posting weekly or byweekly reflections on the past week of practice and plans for next steps.

SPRINT 04 22.01 - 28.01
Reflections on the last Sprint:
Doubt has increased, it's mainly about doing the technique right. But it rarely goes past that initial thought - tension combination, because the mind is learning to let go of the grip. Another main hinderance was Gross Dullness which occured in 7 / 13 sits. It's hard to say if this was caused by an increased abillity to relax or the poor sleeping hygiene i had this week.

The goal of this Sprint was to learn how to pay attention to the breath without controlling it. Which i've kinda accomplished but would like some more practice with.