First 3 nanas and possible A&P... Whadayathink?

thumbnail
Mind over easy, modified 12 Years ago at 4/29/12 12:04 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 4/29/12 12:04 PM

First 3 nanas and possible A&P... Whadayathink?

Hello. Well... I've been meditating. I just posted my experience so far in the practice log section, but I am curious to have my experiences verified as nanas. So, I figured I'd post them here, where that seems to be the place to get such answers.

I'm a pianist, and to practice, I've realized that I need to work freely and effectively with concentration and awareness to understand the mechanisms at play, play around with different techniques to see how the whole process is effected, and concentrate/stabilize the mind in order to sustain continuous effective practice, or even performance/the end product. The parallels to meditation are quite clear, I think. So for meditation, I've been "warming up" by switching my locus of focus rapidly from one knee to the other, or one hand to the other. It's like a drum roll getting progressively faster. I start at a comfortable frequency and then speed it up to my threshold, and try to push it just a little bit, then go back and forth for a bit. By this point, if I just "release the reigns" on my attention, I can observe it going from sensation to sensation all over, at a fairly quick rate (3 to 4 hz usually, depending on the moment). This is actually what has seemed to make progress for me.