advise for retreat this summer

MariaJose Fernandez Ayuso, modified 14 Years ago at 2/18/10 3:52 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 2/18/10 3:52 PM

advise for retreat this summer

I would like some advise on retreat for this summer.

I had been practising zen for 3 years in Vienna, Austria with a Rinzai center until May last year when I came across the Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha by Daniel Ingram after listening to the Buddhist Geeks (thanks Vince for your brilliant work!!!). The book was a like revelation to me, it brought a completely new perspective into the practice and empowered me to continue at home in a more intensive way. I started sitting about 3 hours a day and the past two months I have done over one hour.

I am about to make some big changes in my life going back to my home country, Spain after many years abroad so l will have 3 months this summer before I start working again. I want to use this time to deepen my practice. So far I have done two zen retreats of 5 days each in Ybbs, Austria. My intention is to start with the Goenka 10 days in Spain in June before the longer retreat for a smoother transition learning vipassana which I have not done before. What I am looking for is a 6 weeks retreat between July and September 2010. Although I would like to maximise the time I have now available without other commitments and responsibilities, I think more than 6 weeks might be too ambitious for a first long retreat. Also my first inclination was to search for a mahasi-style practice in Asia but I am not sure if a retreat in Europe or in the USA might be a better option with a shorter adjustment period.

I would really appreciate your suggestions. It feels great to know that there are a bunch of people there on this path.
Many thanks!

Maria-Jose
thumbnail
Daniel M Ingram, modified 14 Years ago at 2/20/10 3:42 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 2/20/10 3:42 AM

RE: advise for retreat this summer