Question About Astral Projection

thumbnail
Yamazaki, modified 6 Years ago at 4/8/17 2:22 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 4/7/17 12:44 AM

Question About Astral Projection

Before I got more serious about Buddhism, I used to follow several astral projection gurus on youtube who would speak in depth about their experiences traveling in the "astral realm". I have no experience with astral projection myself, but many of these people have very convincing stories about times when they were able to learn things they otherwise shouldn't have been able to know while outside their body, seeming to confirm that these experiences are not merely dream-like hallucinations.

All of the “astral projectors” I have seen tell very similar stories about the nature of life on earth, that they supposedly learned through exploring the astral realms. They say that we are “spiritual beings having a human experience”, and that we all chose to get reincarnated as humans in order to have this experience. They all seem pretty convinced that humans have an eternal “soul”, and even say they that meet deceased people they once knew in the astral realms.

Most of this seems to contradict a Buddhist understanding of reality. If any of you have any experience with this, I am very curious to hear an awakened person’s view on the astral projection experience. There is no self, but what exactly leaves the body, if anything? How much of those astral projection guru’s experiences are hallucination, how much are “real” and accurately interpreted, and how much are “real” but misinterpreted?
neko, modified 6 Years ago at 4/7/17 10:04 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 4/7/17 10:04 AM

RE: Question About Astral Projection

Superstition.
thumbnail
Adrian, modified 6 Years ago at 4/7/17 11:20 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 4/7/17 11:20 AM

Hey Yamazaki,