Possible stream entry, AMA

Cody, modified 6 Years ago at 10/17/17 10:11 PM
Created 6 Years ago at 10/17/17 10:07 PM

Possible stream entry, AMA

Hello everyone. This is my first post, but I've read Dharma Overground off and on for the past few months. 

My background is fairly irrelevant, but for context I have read MCTOB, dhamma padda, tao teh ching, New Testament, Koran, and quite a bit on the various western esoteric traditions (freemasonry, alchemy, hermeticism), Plato, and expositions on western philosophy.

My belief is that this intellectual background ( perhaps a path of Jnanic yoga as per Hinduism idea of various paths to enlightenment ) combined with reflection have allowed me to break through into stream entry.  I have definitely entered the dark night several times.

My current "worldview" (which is a very misleading word, since "worldview" could easily be applied to political ideology, relgion, etc)  very closely mirrors the description of first path, but rather than doing a long writeup, I was hoping that some Dharma Overground members would instead ask me a few questions.

This may seem self indulgent, but I think that I am intelligent enough to write a block of text that would have the fascimile of stream entry, and my fear is that my own personal desire for approval would cause me to tailor an answer in such a way as to produce the result I wanted.

Instead, I am asking the DO community to ask questions, which I will answer as best I can and as off the cuff as possible.  Ask questions that probe my understanding of the nature of reality, self, etc.  My answers will be completely candid.

Also, forgive me but my knowledge of buddhist lexicon is fairly limited.  Please if you intend to use specialized vocabulary limit it to words that are in the DO dictionary, or define it closely, since definitional misunderstandings can create a lot of unnecessary strife.

Thanks again guys <3

Cody
Yilun Ong, modified 6 Years ago at 10/17/17 10:33 PM