Vipassana or Just Awareness

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 16 Years ago at 2/14/08 1:45 AM
Created 16 Years ago at 2/14/08 1:45 AM

Vipassana or Just Awareness

Author: transcolin
Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Greetings! I just joined this Wiki and thought I'd just jump right into the deep end (well, maybe this won't be terribly deep).

I have been practicing Soto Zen meditation for nearly two years; though, admittedly, my consistency is less than my ideal. I have stretches of meditating regularly for months, then not actively sitting for months, though I am increasingly able to watch what is arising in daily life.

Recently, I emailed my "informal" Zen teacher, an abbot at the zendo of which I am a member, about some aspects of my practice, including a recent meditation experience. I am copying my words followed by this teacher's (hopefully not a breach, since I'm not identifying the teacher). I'm hoping for some feedback here about goals or directions, not a critique of the answer.

I wrote: I have noted increased ability to concentrate while sitting to the point of inquiring into that which is arising. This manifests as the sense that there is a pure locus of focus at the center of the breath and, visually, the wall in front of me with quick awareness of various sense signals (arising thoughts that are non sequitors - appearing, releasing and dropping away; body sensations; sounds; etc.). I had one signicifant experience last week in which I could see them coming and going really quickly (per second or less). It was a bit disorienting and disconcerting to experience that what usually comes through to consciousness is a mere fraction of all that is arising in any given moment, but then I saw that phenomenon (the disorientated, unsatisfactory feeling) and experienced a profound release which I then also saw and released. It was like: See, Drop, See, Drop, See, Drop.

Note: I started this "inquiry" based on reading much of your book, Daniel.