RE: Hello and a question from a newbie... John Finley 12/4/08 12:58 AM
RE: Hello and a question from a newbie... Nikolai Stephen Halay 1/2/09 7:27 AM
RE: Hello and a question from a newbie... John Finley 1/4/09 2:58 AM
thumbnail
John Finley, modified 15 Years ago at 11/12/08 6:19 AM
Created 15 Years ago at 11/12/08 6:19 AM

Hello and a question from a newbie...

Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hi to all. I’m a newbie here and have very much enjoyed reading through some of the forum discussions. I don’t have a center/teacher available to me locally so I’m just trying to feel my way along on my own and hoping to maybe pick up a few ideas here for advancing my practice. I hope my question is not too basic for this discussion.

I am currently reading Daniel’s book and the discussion about concentration lead me to believe that I should put vipassana aside for a while and practice samatha meditation with the goal of attaining the first jhana since it appears that no progress toward insight is possible without it.

My recent experience with samatha has been frustrating. When I practiced this nearly a year ago, I almost always felt relaxed and unstressed during and after meditation, which was my only goal. I never reached 1st jhana (heck – I didn’t even know it existed!). Now it seems I am unable to practice this effectively at all – I can’t relax and let go, my breathing feels stilted and controlled, there is a tightness in the center of my chest and I feel very tense during and after meditation.

This manifested a few weeks ago during a sitting in which I had become very relaxed and calm. After a while I experienced a feeling of being on the edge of something, almost as if I was at a doorway or gate. I felt as if I was being pulled to the wide open space on the other side. There were no identifiable structures or forms, just a sort of hazy, foggy space, softly glowing red.