What if anything is this?

thumbnail
Jim Smith, modified 5 Years ago at 7/29/18 3:01 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 7/19/18 5:42 PM

What if anything is this?

What is this experience I describe below?

Does it correspond to anything in the stages of insight?
http://static1.squarespace.com/static/5037f52d84ae1e87f694cfda/t/506fcc5c84aefb9a79a610b3/1349504092518/Pathways.jpg

This excerpt is from my blog, posted a few years ago, it describes my own experiences. It is hard to express experiences (feelings) by means of words so I apologise in advance if it souds weird, contrived, or doesn't make sense. I'm not a professional writer. I think of it as "jhana light" or "soft jhana". The meditation technique is very similar to what Leigh Brasington describes on his web site.

http://ncu9nc.blogspot.com/2015/02/joy-during-meditation.html#joy_trip
But this type of ... meditation ...  doesn't require super intense concentration so I think most people could learn to do it. I had to stop the other day because it was so intense I was getting nervous. ... feeling so happy, and connected to all things and feeling such intense metta that ... were worried ... [ I ] might never get back to normal ...

It also creates a kind of synesthesia where everything I see and hear I also feel in my body as if they are part of me. There is an effect like the brain is a virtual reality machine and what I see is really a movie inside my head ... like my mind contains the whole universe including me walking around inside it. Other times I feel like my self and its boundaries are dissolving and I am expanding to merge into infinite space. ...