How do Buddhists see the world?

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 5/7/09 2:32 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/7/09 2:32 AM

How do Buddhists see the world?

Author: MettaMan
Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hi everyone, this is my first Post here.
I am new to Buddhism and am loving the Wisdom of Emptiness and Dependent Origination teachings, also Loving a change in style of meditation. I am practising Shinay with and with out support, and also contemplating Emptiness and dependent origination a lot.
I love the tradition and am more and more enthralled with numbers of its aspects.
I have one problem though. I have spent a long time in other traditions and have deeply explored many mystical states. This has slowly changed my senses over time to a place where the world is obviously conscious and alive and I relate that way to it every day. This is something I really enjoy as the Universe feels like an old friend, and it feels enchanted and alive. And when I relate in this way to it, I feel alive as well. Very alive. My heart opens up. Joy moves easily between myself and the world and the presence of Life feels like an infinite Positive Animating Force.
This is my general state.
So here is my Dilemma. I am finding it very hard to find any positive views of the universe in Buddhism. The Idea that all is one seems to be refuted, (as in via some substance like the Brahman or some other theistic musings) as is the Idea that there is anything behind the universe, that it all hangs on -Please correct me if I am wrong-
What Are some positive views of the world I can relate to if there are any. Did Buddha live in a Wondrous Alive universe or was he completely internal, deep in a subtle mind stream. Is there room in Buddhism for my experience?
Thank you All.
thumbnail
Florian, modified 14 Years ago at 5/7/09 4:01 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/7/09 4:01 AM

RE: How do Buddhists see the world?

Welcome, MettaMan.