From Scratch

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 7/15/09 8:50 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 7/15/09 8:50 AM

From Scratch

Author: kevin_stanley
Forum: Practical Dharma

I'm ready to cultivate a practice. I would really appreciate input from this community--it looks like there's a lot of experience and wisdom 'round these parts.

Here's where I am: I have some experience with mindfulness meditation a la Jon Kabat-Zinn, but so far I haven't really established a habit. I have read a few books on Buddhist practice and meditation, most recently Daniel's. So I have a bit of a conceptual framework. I also have a strong general interest in wisdom traditions/mystical traditions from various cultures, and those that bridge or transcend cultures. I've read some of Ken Wilber's stuff, for instance, and am a big fan of Aldous Huxley's "The Perennial Philosophy."

So I've been thinking about this stuff for years. And, as I commented on another thread, I think I was working on it before I was even thinking about it as such. As a child I used to alleviate boredom by fixing my attention on something and seeing how long I could keep it there--which used to lead to trance states that seem in retrospect like Jhanas. I had a couple of experiences in my late teens/early twenties that seem suspiciously like A&P events, now that I know that concept, but of course it's hard to be sure. But what I've never done (yet) is to develop a regular, committed practice.

I'm ready to do that now.
thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 7/15/09 8:51 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 7/15/09 8:51 AM

RE: From Scratch

(continued)