Suddenly more difficult

Bob No No, modified 5 Years ago at 3/24/19 4:10 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/24/19 4:10 AM

Suddenly more difficult

I have been practicing meditation daily since September 2017, exploring various style. I decided to commit to shamatha, but also exploring other stuff at the same time.

My daily practice now is 45 min of 10 point practice(Reggie Ray, somatic meditation) upon waking up, then usually 2 or 3 shorter 7-10 minutes of shamatha at work.

When I get home I usually do 60 minutes of shamatha.
I've found out that I enjoy the longer session more than the shorter ones cause I go through "phases" where my previous conceptual attempt at focusing relaxes down. Sometimes different phenomena occur, like an expanded energetic awareness spreading our through the room, going into trance-like states, feeling like I've been present but asleep and spontaneous movements.

My usual meditation is struggle. But I've gotten the insight(?) that struggle is actually what is preventing me from meditating. I had a few big aha's a month ago where I drank a few beers while meditating. I experienced my conceptual mind going from "focus on the tip of the nose. Shit. Back again. Focus" to calming down and realizing that the agressive attitude of trying/doing is the struggle. My head got less airy and my body got more filled up, while I got into a relaxed but present state.

My point of focus is the entrance of the nose and my focus is on the sensations of the breath. I easily get distracted by other more prominent sensations of pain. I also notice that I breath in a certain way to make the felt sensations more available or stronger.
At certain points during the meditation its just nothing, and when I try to focus I get thrown into more gross feelings.

Any tips? Right now it feels like I am at a transitory phase, maybe from more gross to subtle experiences?
thumbnail
Ben V, modified 5 Years ago at 3/24/19 7:24 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/24/19 7:24 AM