thank you

thumbnail
Emma ---, modified 13 Years ago at 11/24/10 11:47 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 11/24/10 11:47 PM

thank you

Hi, my name is Emma - I am new to insight practice and the DhO, and wanted to post a note of thanks.

I spent most of my twenties following an American Hindu-style "master," not unlike the teacher described in Bill Hamilton's book Saints & Psychopaths (which, incidentally was an awesome, healing read). While I ultimately left that situation profoundly hurt and disillusioned, I did have some very real spiritual experiences in my years of involvement, along the lines of what is described here as the A&P. And as much as I would like to forget a lot of what happened and what I participated in, I do have have the feeling of not being able to go back somehow - spiritual and existential questions just bother me...a lot. After reading more in the past year about the progress of insight, my best guess is that I have being cycling again and again through the dark night for years, becoming quite identified with myself as an easily depressed and melancholy person.

These feelings of depression hit me very strongly again the other day in a "here we go again" kind of way, and I found it very difficult to meditate. Sulking around on this site though, I had the perspective-altering realization that all my depression and existential dread, just like everything else, was not really me and not permanent. That it was mainly just a pressure in my chest combined with a slightly nauseous feeling in my stomach and a lot of negative thoughts. I am sure this fact seems painfully obvious to most readers on this forum, but the realization immediately broke up my depression in a way that had never happened before. I feel hope about spiritual life in a way I have not for years, and now take comfort in the fact that, even if I never make any more progress, that depressed feeling will still remain transitory and not me.