Message Boards Message Boards

Insight and Wisdom

Conventional Reality/Ultimate Reality

Toggle
Conventional Reality/Ultimate Reality
Answer
12/21/20 12:50 AM
I responded to a message of Shargol on this thread

New Interview with Daniel about Bikkhu Analayo's article in Mindfulness - Discussion - www.dharmaoverground.org

where I said, I've some experience to back this up which I did not want to put there. Here that goes: 

The whole post will consist of experience & proofs. Intuitively, I go for experience. However, the mathematician in me wants to prove everything. The two will follow one after the other, but they are intertwined.

1. [[Experience section]]

I think the last time I posted with experience was March/April. 

If I recall correctly, I said about experiencing God right in the center of the heart region. The whole thing was ironical because ``experiencing God'' started out when I was not looking for God, rather, I was on a Buddhist retreat. In any case, the whole thing repeated when I was doing/trying to do some Buddhist formless realm meditations -- when again, my attention went to God in the center of the heart. The whole thing reminded me of Saint Teresa of Avila -- The Interior Castle or Mansions. 

In any case, I realized there were still questions. The two that were on my mind were:

a. What is re-birth? Does the Sutta view of re-birth make sense? 

b. What is asmimana, or, the conceit, ``I am'' -- the last fetter to go, per Sutta's. "I making" and "my making" have been fairly clear to me -- that I do this -- but I did not have any real handle on the conceit "I am" -- and there are various theories floating around.