Pre-Stream entry anonymous (practice thread)

thumbnail
Teague, modified 12 Years ago at 9/30/11 1:06 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 9/29/11 10:41 PM

Pre-Stream entry anonymous (practice thread)

Hello everyone, my name is Teague, and I’m a pre-stream enterer.

I’m starting this practice thread, because I’ve reached a point in my life where it’s time to buckle down to really do this thing. I’ve been dabbling for about 4 years, actually meditating for 2 years, and getting gung ho for about 2 months. That 2-month mark is the point at which I found the Dharmaoverground and read MCTB. Thank you to everyone involved and to Daniel.

So where am I? I just finished my third 10-day Goenka retreat where I gained familiarity with all the nanas leading up to equanimity. So now I’ve set my intent on a course for stream entry. I have unprecedented energy for practice. My timer often goes off after an hour, and I just keep sitting. Tomorrow I get off work at noon, and all I want to do is come home and have a long sit. I feel like I have momentum right now that I should really utilize.

Lately I’ve been finding it very easy to work up to equanimity. I’ll start with about 10 minutes of Jhana before moving to Vipassana (body scanning, à la Goenka, but with some noting), and then I usually get into pretty solid equanimity in another 10 minutes. At first this seemed suspiciously fast, so I started really examining my experience, but I have little doubt that I get to genuine EQ. While sitting tonight, I even briefly reflected that I couldn’t imagine much more equanimity being possible, which makes me think that I’m getting into high EQ. This last domino seems tricky to topple, because the very thing that may topple it is awareness and equanimity to the very desire to do so.