HAPPY!!!... and harmless?

thumbnail
carolin varley, modified 12 Years ago at 10/20/11 4:43 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 10/20/11 4:43 PM

HAPPY!!!... and harmless?

I listened to the Hurricane Ranch talks yesterday. Super interesting!
One of the things Tarin said that I have been thinking about a lot today is how the first time he tried AF he dropped it because he reached some dead ends, like wanting to be happy but not really caring about harmless (or something along those lines).
This worries me a bit as I can definitely see that as a potential barrier for my future practice. I am pretty new to AF but have enjoyed getting into sensuousness and cultivating felicity. I realize that what attracted me to AF in the first place is the idea of this fairy-tale adventure and complete enjoyment of life that I have been reading about. However, to be honest, my main motivation is my own happiness.
Yes having simpler relationships where I don't get angry and frustrated would also be a major bonus but again that would mainly be a relief for my own sake (not having to experience that negativity), so I was wondering how I could give my practice a less selfish edge? I mean after all I understand the whole point of this practice is getting rid of the ego or the sense of self, but until I listened to the talks I was aiming for experiencing a PCE and then just hoping that realisations would come naturally afterwards, like 'wow this experience is so much better without ME in the way', but it sounded like the harmless aspect of AF was still an obstacle for Tarin.
Also, I am pre-path and I'm still not 100% sure where my practice is going at the moment. I am tempted to go all AF with some continued samatha sits (have been getting into some jhana-ish states recently), and drop noting for the time being because trying to fumble my way through dark night in my sits seems to make off the cushion AF practice harder afterwards.