RE: Meditation and craving for Food

Ankush G, modified 2 Years ago at 9/6/21 9:24 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 9/6/21 9:24 AM

Meditation and craving for Food

I have been meditating for almost 6 months now and have started to realize my own 'craving towards taste' which leads me to overeat and is the biggest reason for my obesity. At times, while I am able to catch my 'intention of eating', I don't have enough patience to let that feeling pass away. So even when I'm aware that this craving to eat is just a ' craving' and not real hunger, I'm not able to stop myself from acting on it.

I'm happy about the progress I've made where I'm now atleast aware of my 'intention to experience taste' when I'm off-cushion ( though not always), I want to know if anyone has been through a similar exprience with any other craving and at what stage would I be able to have better control over my hunger cravings?

Is this something which can happen with the 'insight of impermanence' where I'd have a deep realization that this craving for food is going to pass away? Or am I expecting too much from my meditation practice and the solution to healthy eating doesn't lie in insight meditation?
thumbnail
Jim Smith, modified 2 Years ago at 9/6/21 1:55 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 9/6/21 1:55 PM

Ankush G

Is this something which can happen with the 'insight of impermanence' where I'd have a deep realization that this craving for food is going to pass away? Or am I expecting too much from my meditation practice and the solution to healthy eating doesn't lie in insight meditation?

I think it's a bit hard to judge from an internet post. Meditation might help.