RE: Dharma maps and confirmation bias Ben Sulsky 8/30/22 10:22 AM
RE: Dharma maps and confirmation bias Chris M 8/30/22 10:24 AM
RE: Dharma maps and confirmation bias Chris M 8/30/22 2:54 PM
RE: Dharma maps and confirmation bias Ben Sulsky 8/31/22 12:32 PM
RE: Dharma maps and confirmation bias Chris M 8/31/22 1:21 PM
Gustavo de Souza, modified 1 Year ago at 8/18/22 9:12 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 8/17/22 10:25 AM

Dharma maps and confirmation bias

I've been meditating for about 2 months now, doing ~1 hour per day and 2-3 1-hr sessions on the weekends or when I have more time. I'm not sure at which stage I am on the map but it doesnt seem super important (apart from wanting stream entry lol).

My question is; would it be better to avoid reading stuff like the progress of insight so I dont bias my own understanding of where I am on these maps? Or is it good to familiarize myself. I should probably mention that I have some familiarity with the maps but havent looked super in depth into them.
thumbnail
Dream Walker, modified 1 Year ago at 8/17/22 11:14 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 8/17/22 11:14 AM

RE: Dharma maps and confirmation bias

Confirmation bias or ignorance?
Well, if you have past experience of confirmation bias creating problems for yourself then you might judge accordingly. If you are just going off of others opinions then I would take that for what it is.
My opinion is that wisdom comes from knowledge not ignorance but that is just my opinion...

good luck,
~D
Gustavo de Souza, modified 1 Year ago at 8/17/22 11:23 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 8/17/22 11:23 AM

I'll rephrase the question. To make progress along the path, must one be familir with the path in advance? Additionally, is familiarity with the path likely to hinder or help one progress through the stages?
thumbnail
Dream Walker, modified 1 Year ago at 8/17/22 12:04 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 8/17/22 12:04 PM

Gustavo de Souza