I need to not do but I can't influence it (advice needed)

Aleksandar Bozic, modified 1 Year ago at 4/20/23 7:55 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 4/20/23 7:52 AM

I need to not do but I can't influence it (advice needed)

I have been meditating for 7 years doing various different methods. Gone through many cycles. Realizing again and again how empty things are. I have felt shifts closer and closer to nothing in particular. Just sensations of relaxation which are obviously more pleasant than clinging onto things.

Now it feels like I'm on on the verge of knowing the unknowable. Settling into everything. There is just this one issue. Me trying to not do anything. I realize that is something that has to happen. The watcher (me for now emoticon ) is starting to vibrate. This causes tremendous amounts of stress. I can't be both nothing and something, I don't feel like there is a self although there is obvious clinging. When I engage the clinging it all goes downhill. Intense sadness and anger and fear. I feel as though I can not overcome it. I can't find the root. The root is the sense of I but when I engage it I feel as though I can't dissolve it.

This is now influencing my everyday life. I find it hard to work, hard to talk, feel, walk, anything really. I still am trying to find what it is I don't get. I felt the observer, nothing (which seems not to be felt but implied), everything, self, conciousness and so on. Every time I tune into impermanence there is a sense of relief but then the psychological backlash is immense.

It seems like I have to give up on giving up. Give up on nothing and something. Give up on me. Give up on everything which can be felt. But I don't know how to do that.

Cessations don't let the watcher fall away, impermanence goes through the watcher and it resolidifies. Meditation seems to worsen it emotionally.

If anyone has any advice and how I should proceed I would be extremely grateful.
thumbnail