My Practice Thread

neil watson, modified 12 Years ago at 12/20/11 6:35 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 12/20/11 6:35 PM

My Practice Thread

Am posting here to make sure I am on the right track, as I am just beginning concentration exercises.

A bit of info. I have been pointed to the truth of no self on Ruthless Truth, that was about 6 months ago. It changed a lot of things for me, but theres still a lot of shit, a lot of rage, and I want to deepen my understanding of things. Going outside and just sitting and looking at things seemed to help deepen, but I have realised that theres a lot more to it, and a lot more I can do.

From reading here it seems like I can train my concentration, and/or train my insight, I decided to improve my concentration first, so have been sitting with eyes closed focusing on the breath, and being aware of each breath I take. I have only been doing it for 3 days, first day for 10 minutes, not much happened. Yesterday I sat for 20 minutes, which extended to 40 minutes. Today I sat for 40 minutes. After about 30 minutes I did start to feel warm and tingly, sometimes like there was a 1 cm layer of fuzz all around my body, it was nice, wouldnt say really pleasureable though. on both days, after about another 5 or 10 minutes, my right calf and foot started twitching or spasming occasionally, same foot on both days.

With regard to concentration, how do I know if I am doing it right? I notice that my mind tends to wander, but I usually manage to avoid following any trains of thought and bring focus back to the breath. I am just trying to be aware of every breath I take, its usually the sound of my in breath that I notice most, or the movement of my chest. Does this sound correct?

thanks for any feedback
neil
neil watson, modified 12 Years ago at 12/20/11 8:14 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 12/20/11 8:14 PM

RE: My Practice Thread