Natural Meditation from "Awake It's Your Turn" by Angelo DiLullo

thumbnail
finding-oneself ♤, modified 4 Months ago at 12/16/23 7:45 PM
Created 4 Months ago at 12/16/23 4:31 PM

Natural Meditation from "Awake It's Your Turn" by Angelo DiLullo

Pages 140 - 143. Awake It's Your Turn, by Angelo DiLullo
Natural Meditation

The first type of meditation I want to talk about is actually not a technique at all. I know that sounds strange; however, natural meditation is a very real phenomenon, and I find that most people who are sincere and experienced in meditation practice come across it at some point. The easiest way to illustrate what I’m talking about here is to tell you from my own personal experience how I came upon it. I had been meditating for several years when this clicked for me. Over that time, I had used various different meditation techniques. I really enjoyed meditation for the most part, as I found it relaxing and centering. At times there were more intense experiences. There were states of profound peace, dissolution, and insights that I couldn’t begin to describe. There were also times of frustration, painful emotions, and challenging internal states. Regardless of what technique I was using and whether the experience was enjoyable or difficult, there was one thing I never questioned at the most fundamental level. That is whether or not I even needed a technique at all. There is a term in Zen called “shikantaza” that describes a meditative approach where one uses no specific technique. I had heard of this before, but even then, I somehow still interpreted that as a technique. This sounds really funny to me now, but I can genuinely say that I just didn’t get it until it came upon me naturally. I remember the exact moment it clicked. It was just an aha moment. I was sitting there, meditating in my bedroom, and the technique of meditation, as well as the sense of there being a practice, simply disappeared. It only took an instant, and from then on there was