Suggestions for a quadriplegic

Gabriel Radke, modified 3 Months ago at 1/13/24 12:01 PM
Created 3 Months ago at 1/13/24 12:01 PM

Suggestions for a quadriplegic

Ive been doing concentration exercises for ~2 years. I started with 10 minutes a day and have worked up to 1hr a day and 1hr30min on the weekend days, mostly breath and fire kasina. Daniel said he knew someone who got stream entry from 3hrs a day so that is what I am working towards. Being paralyzed it doesn't appear as if I will be able to attend retreats. Are their meditation leaders I could establish a relationship with over video call? Are there other suggestions you have for someone in my condition?
thumbnail
Sha-Man! Geoffrey, modified 3 Months ago at 1/13/24 12:15 PM
Created 3 Months ago at 1/13/24 12:15 PM

RE: Suggestions for a quadriplegic

I'm not sure where you are based, but if you're in the US then I'm sure there are meditation centers that are ADA compliant. I think IMS might be, but I'd shoot them an email and ask them. 

You could always do a personal retreat though. Many retreats have all their dhamma talks posted on dharmaseed, so you could pick one that looks cool and use those.

Otherwise, I know in a post COVID world, many places are starting to offer more and more online retreats. 

I also know Deb heltzer teaches people who want to get awakened and she does it via video. It's worth reaching out to her! She was a nun under U Pandita 
​​​​​​​https://www.deborahhelzer.com/
Martin, modified 3 Months ago at 1/13/24 12:47 PM
Created 3 Months ago at 1/13/24 12:47 PM