How to regain state of effortless concentration?

Dee Miller, modified 11 Years ago at 2/4/13 6:43 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 2/4/13 6:43 AM

How to regain state of effortless concentration?

Hi,

Last night I twice entered a state where my concentration was intense and completely effortless. This morning, I'm back to having a lot of pressure in my body, and I wasn't able to get back to that level of concentration. The description at http://www.aimwell.org/Books/Mahasi/Progress/progress.html#Equanimity seemed bang on. How do I get back there?

I've been meditating for about three months. I do it at least twice a day for half an hour, though I go much longer when I feel like it and have the time. I've used various forms of mindfulness of the breath while sitting, and lately I've been trying a lot of noting as I go about my day.
thumbnail
Richard Zen, modified 11 Years ago at 2/4/13 8:14 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 2/4/13 8:14 AM

RE: How to regain state of effortless concentration?

Concentration improves with less attachment and that includes attachment to concentration states or any meditation practices. The practices have to be done and not be part of rumination. The best student is one who notices the thought interruption and continues concentrating regardless. Concentration is a conditioned practice and you will have good days and bad days.

Are you trying to develop concentration or mindfulness? The equanimity you referenced is related to mindfulness. It sounds to me like you're noting to equanimity but then solidifying it in just the jhana. If you like equanimity but you want to progress further you need to be noting pleasant sensations and letting them arise and pass away on their own and not attaching to any phenomenon.
Dee Miller, modified 11 Years ago at 2/4/13 8:32 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 2/4/13 8:24 AM

Yeah, I've already noticed that it's become a bit of a distraction.