Kasina Practice

thumbnail
Bimbibom , modified 10 Years ago at 8/11/13 10:12 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 8/11/13 10:12 PM

Kasina Practice

Dear meditators, friends,
During last several weeks I’ve started kasina practice. The practice was inspired by this thread
Any context and comments are very welcome, as I am very new with Kasina practice.
I’ve done lots of Goenka and Mahasi Vipassana practice, but never samatha. I hang in something resembling Equanimity.
I’ve took a 3x4 ft white carton paper sheet. A 9 inch earth color brownish (ceramic color) disk was painted in the middle.
I stare at it in a relaxed way, focusing behind the image. This way I can see the entire circle at once, not parts of the circle.
Being in Equanimity sometimes is not natural to have a narrow focus.
After a few moments a yellowish-bluish counter image appears. The counter image is the same size of the brown disk, mostly overlaps it, making the disk less dark. The overlap is almost complete, but usually a left or right side of kasina disk has a narrow crescent of brown color while on opposite side there is a bright light narrow crescent on the white paper, just next to the disk. It looks like the counter image a tiny bit shifted to the right or left of the disk. If I to watch the counter image closely (to focus on it), then it would move around, to the right, left, up or down.
If I am to close the eyes I either see only the darkness or a yellow light blob. It would stays for about 10-15 seconds, sometimes moving and disappearing, just to reappear few seconds later, to last few more seconds and to disappear for good. Often A&P tingles in the area of the third eye will show up.
If I am to look at the disk again, then the disk shape would change: it wouldn’t stay perfectly round, but it would dynamically change the shape, being a little squished in several spots. Sometimes the squish spots are moving along the edge of the disk.