Metta Experiences -- ( Possibly jhana, want your opinions )

thumbnail
Mitchell K Hardy, modified 10 Years ago at 8/21/13 6:48 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 8/21/13 6:48 PM

Metta Experiences -- ( Possibly jhana, want your opinions )

I have been practicing metta meditation for a few months to soothe my temper, and help build concentration. Thus far it has done an excellent job. However, I was just wondering if the DhO would help me out on figuring out where in the jhana map I may be?

So, here is my muddled attempt to describe the experiences that I undergo in the moments when I really get in the groove of my meditation:

Not much intellectualizing going on, mind is calm, subtle bliss but still bliss, my concentration is steady on the feeling of metta permeating from what feels like all of my body. It feels very refreshing, sort of like the moment right when you lay in bed at night after a 12 hour day, and say, "Ahh, I love my bed." (Furthermore, it feels very genuine because all of the well-wishing I do towards people that I actually care about, and I wish for specific things that would make that person have the most fulfillment in life. I wish things for my own self as well, which has showed me how to love myself and not be so self-sacrificing in life.)

I assume I am somewhere in the 2nd-3rd jhanas, albeit pretty "soft" jhanas, because of the sustained attention, bliss, etc.

That said, there is an experience that I have had several times now, and I am most curious about what you all think of it:

As I was preparing to wish something good to happen to my mother, my mind was very determined and energetic, and all of a sudden my mind was super concentrated and the well-wishing seemed to happen all on it's own, with no effort. This has happened 3 or 4 times during different sits, and I am not sure what it really is. Is that a moment of "hard" jhana, or perhaps absorption concentration?

Any help is much appreciated! Thanks!
thumbnail