Question about the 1st jhanna's first possible occurence

Iulian Doroftei, modified 10 Years ago at 1/8/14 4:52 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 1/8/14 4:50 AM

Question about the 1st jhanna's first possible occurence

Hello everyone, I've been starting meditating for about 3 months and I have reached a point where I need a clarification regarding the 1st jhanna.

As a brief background (you can skip this paragraph, I guess), I started with 30 minutes a day and made it 1 hour and then upped it to about 80-90 minutes a day. My first lecture was "Mindfulness in Plain English", but I was curious enough and stumbled upon this board where I found about the fantastic Daniel Ingram's MCTB which was a jolt for my practice. I cannot thank him and your community more. Nevertheless, for about two months I was confusing a little bit concentration with insight practice during my sittings and used to observe the breath instead of purely be with it. So there were little or no results regarding the deepening of my concentration (even though the results after 2 months of insight were spectacular for my life). But luckily, I've sensed this stagnation, tried to clear up what was happening, reread some passages from MCTB and browsed this board section and changed my approach during sittings (this was about 10 days ago) and there appeared a result on which I want to ask for your evaluation/diagnose.