noting ear ringing [Jake WM] [MIGRATE]

Migration 62 Daemon, modified 9 Years ago at 5/7/14 4:53 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 5/7/14 4:53 AM

noting ear ringing [Jake WM] [MIGRATE]

noting ear ringing [Jake WM]

Jake WM - 2014-04-30 03:03:28 - noting ear ringing

recently during my meditation i have been using my breath as the primary object, noting 'iiiiin' and 'ooooout' in the moment. however sometimes i become aware of the ringing in my ears and it is quite strange to concentrate on. i decided to note it by saying 'ring' 'ring' 'ring' each time i become aware of the actual noise or whatever it is. it is difficult to hold focus on this sensation for more than a minute or so. i was wondering if i should investigate this object further or if i should focus on other sensations and disregard the ringing because it is just a side effect of the dark night.

-------------------

Psi Phi - 2014-04-30 04:27:22 - RE: noting ear ringing

Hello Jake, 

Interesting stuff, I have had some experience with this sound as a kid, and it was a precursor to other states of consciousness.

There are a couple , few ways that I know to look at this phenomenon.

First Nada Yoga, you can google this and find a wealth of info on the net, maybe this lines up with your experience.

Secondly Ajahn Amaro has a free pdf book called Meditation on the Sound of Silence.

These would mostly be directed towards tranquility/jhana, which is good i.e. a stable mind is a happy mind.

Thirdly, it could be Tinnitus, not that you still couldn't use the sound, but I'm no Doc.

If you were going to use it for jhana, just relax listen to the sound and when any thinking thoughts ( inner verbalizations), body sensations, etc arise simply let them go and bring your attention back to the nada sound. And relax...everything, and let go.....

Bryan

-------------------

Dream Walker - 2014-04-30 07:01:16 - RE: noting ear ringing

Jake WM: