Thought Renunciation

Mark Brauer, modified 9 Years ago at 11/11/14 4:17 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 11/11/14 3:03 PM

Thought Renunciation

I'm curious why an approach like this to samatha isn't more common. I guess you could also call it 'objectless concentration', but I find that seems to have more association with Vipassana and semantically I'm really not sure if you can meditate at all without some kind of object. The vein of it seems to be something along the lines of what yogis might call 'pratyahara', literally something like not eating or nurturing. The process is one where you abandon thoughts as soon as they arise, turn your mind to a sort of stillness that's already present in the mind, and from there notice the 'rumblings' of habitual formations or proto-thoughts and dissolve them before they manifest into anything, progressively suspending active thinking more and more, until the mind thuroughly settles out.

I've been meditating fairly consistently for about five years or so, and I've found that samatha only began to make sense to me once I approached it from a context of attenuation rather than 'concentration'. Everything else I've tried would either be some form of mindfulness meditation, settling into a dull trance, or striving. With this I can experience phenomena like sensory withdrawal and piti, etc, consistently and in just a few minutes. Meditation is practically effortless and a real reprieve, striving never becomes a problem nor does dullness; and my experiences off the cushion are thuroughly what I'd expect from tranquility meditation, including me becoming more aware of a more obscured strata of thoughts and memories (say those from childhood, or pseudo-psychic perceptions, etc) that I'd never really experience with any consistency when I was trying to use anapanasati for samatha.