Which jhana I am in?

thumbnail
Paul Rig, modified 9 Years ago at 11/19/14 7:14 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 11/19/14 7:14 PM

Which jhana I am in?

Reading the book of Ingram it says that in the 3rd jhana you start to wide your attention to the point that its difficult to freeze it on one simple object. This matches with my practice in some way, because in the very beginning of my practice I used to stay focused on breath longer than I do now. But I don’t know if it is because of jhana change or because maybe I lost the interest I had at the beginning for being something new for me. I’ve been practicing for 2 years, doing a lot of meditation 1st year (every day almost 40 min) and very few this second. I didn’t lose the general interest, but Im not very disciplined and its something that happens to me on every field (I use to be very into something when I start, and within the time I go back to it with less insistence). But regardless of my discipline problems. The more time it passes, the more I prefer to wide the attention and free the focus. And I don’t know if widing the attention necessarily is related with insight practices more than concentration ones. So I don’t know if I simply prefer to do insight rather than concentration, or I have problems to narrow the focus, or Im already at the 3rd jhana…
thumbnail
Paul Rig, modified 9 Years ago at 11/19/14 7:55 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 11/19/14 7:52 PM

RE: Which jhana I am in?

And I will say more things that are coming to my mind right now and I need to share. They are related with the first paragraph, but maybe it needs different answers.