#3 nana: 3 characteristics

John Power, modified 9 Years ago at 12/25/14 6:52 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 12/25/14 6:48 AM

#3 nana: 3 characteristics

Currently I don't want to cross the A&P again because I am in my last year of university and have to write a couple essays. For more information: http://www.dharmaoverground.org/web/guest/discussion/-/message_boards/message/5602295

So I have the time to investigate the nana 1 till 4. Because there isn't a subcategory '#3 nana: 3C's' I wanted to post my experience with this nana.
I noticed the following things in #3 nana: stifness in neck, shoulders en chest. Because of the stifness it is sometimes hard to breath. Then later there is tiredness/fatique, hotness in the whole body, light-headed and sometimes pain in the jaws. Then later there arise intense itches on several parts of the body. The dominant mindstate for me is anxiousness. In the beginning of the #3 nana there is just a subtle irritation but later the anxiety takes the more dominant role. It is like you haven't slept for one or a few days and you are just very reactive. You can watch all this because of your concentration and wisdom but it definetly is unpleasant.

How to deal with all of this?

Well for me there are a few things that helped and get you to early #4 nana: A&P.

1. Do formal insight meditation every day for a certain amount of time, say one hour.
2. Do formal concentration practise every day to help keep your mind stable to handle the experiences.
3. The most important thing: note as much as possible during the day. Because of the many noting, thoughts don't have the power to drag you into daydreaming or the spiral of thinking. So you are more mindful during the day so mindfulness becomes more continuous, so your concentration becomes stronger and the conditions to understand the 3 C's and to move to the #4 nana A&P, become right.