Recipes for better living

thumbnail
Bill F, modified 9 Years ago at 2/6/15 10:40 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 2/6/15 10:40 PM

Recipes for better living

Hello,

I am going to use this thread to compile a list of some of my favorite recipes to cook. I acknowledge that I am only an amateur chef, but I think I'm pretty skilled in the kitchen. Having experimented with a number of diets, I am currently eating primarily under the Perfect Health Diet PHD. I will get into the specifics of how diet has been shown to transform more than just health, but to begin with, I will start with a simple recipe:

Liver and Onions

More than perhaps with any other food, with liver, preparation is key. Soak liver in milk for 24 hours before preparing. After soaking for 24 hours, rinse and pat dry with paper towels, then sprinle with salt and pepper. 

1. Cut onion into small slices.
2. Using a tbsp. of olive oil, allow olive oil to warm in pan, and then slow cook sliced onion for 30-45 mns. on low heat, until it is reduced and caramelized. 
3. Remove onion from pan, and turn heat to med/high, allowing a minute or so for pan to heat up.
4. Liver cooks quick so cook for 2-3 minutes per side. If the sides begin to curl press down with spatula.

And voila! Enjoy. 
Liver is one of the most nutritious foods available, packed with a ton of nutrients that it's hard to find other places. I got my most recent batch from Rain Crow Ranch   http://www.raincrowranch.com/
thumbnail
sawfoot _, modified 9 Years ago at 2/7/15 3:08 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 2/7/15 3:03 AM

RE: Recipes for better living

Thanks for the recipe Bill. Never been a huge offal fan but perhaps I might give this a go.

So, In your opinion, this Perfect Health Diet that you speak of, does it actually lead to transformation of your health (and beyond)?