thumbnail
bernd the broter, modified 9 Years ago at 2/14/15 4:55 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 2/14/15 4:55 PM

Meditation in the lying position. How?

Hi all,

Here are 2 things I like to do:
1) Lie down.
2) Meditate.

Unfortunately I'm not good at doing both things at the same time.
When I try it, the mind starts to wander off very quickly. Concentrating becomes much harder. Even this works only for a few minutes. After that, usually all my efforts break down and my mind spends much more time wandering than with the meditation object.

I know that Goenka recommends to not do lying meditation for longer than 5 minutes, and his explanation (i.e. "it doesn't work") matches my experience. Daniel, in the MCTB 2 draft, states that for some people it's just easy, and for some it's near to impossible.
I'm obviously in the second category and am somewhat dissatisfied with that.

So here's the question: Have some of you faced the same problem, but actually found a solution?
If you have, I'd be grateful to learn about that.
thumbnail
Eric M W, modified 9 Years ago at 2/14/15 5:58 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 2/14/15 5:58 PM

RE: Meditation in the lying position. How?

I like to meditate lying down as well, but it isn't for everybody. Is there any particular reason that you dislike sitting, standing, or walking?
thumbnail
bernd the broter, modified 9 Years ago at 2/15/15 3:59 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 2/15/15 3:59 AM

I don't dislike these other forms. It's just that it's often convenient to lie down and then I think "might as well do a little meditation right now" and then I'm disappointed when it doesn't work.

In fact my interest in this question grew, when I imagined lying in a hospital bed for a few weeks and being bored to death. (Which hasn't happened to me yet but can, as I was reminded by recent events around me, happen to anyone with a bit of bad luck.)
thumbnail
tom moylan, modified 9 Years ago at 2/17/15 7:00 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 2/17/15 7:00 AM

hey BtB