Cognitive effects of meditation

Paul Smith, modified 9 Years ago at 5/16/15 6:40 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 5/16/15 6:40 AM

Cognitive effects of meditation

I'm very interested of cognitive effects of meditation. I'm a beginner, but I'm already noticing interesting mental phenomena arising.
For example, I'm able to have complex nonverbal thoughts -- they are very short in duration, but ripe with meaning. I catch myself with reactive urge to translate them to verbal versions, but it seems unnecessary and tiresome. 
If I watch a video, I'm noticing cuts -- places where two pieces of footage are glued together.
My nonverbals (body language, voice tonality) improves. I'm able to better express myself with niuances like tone of voice, or gestures.

I'm curious what effects others are noticing. Please share how meditation is affecting you, your mind, communication, thoughts, etc.
C P M, modified 9 Years ago at 5/16/15 12:33 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 5/16/15 12:26 PM

RE: Cognitive effects of meditation

Hi Paul

Interesting that you are noticing such things as cuts in movies and how they are put together. A lot of work and artistry goes into creating that. I've noticed an improvement in my “mental horsepower” since meditating over a number of years. I've been a software developer for a number of decades, so I can compare working prior to daily mediation, and working after years of daily meditation.

Lately, I've completed some very complex and difficult projects. The final work is probably the best I've done. A big difference from before is the quality of my experience while actually working. Software development is typically high pressure with lots of deadlines, expectations and unforeseen difficulties. A big part for me is being able to face all of these difficulties without getting ruffled. I was able to have the attitude that “it going to get done when it gets done”, and then fully and joyously engaging in the work.