continuous awareness in the city is making me freak out

Olequa, modified 7 Years ago at 7/12/16 2:28 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 7/12/16 2:28 PM

continuous awareness in the city is making me freak out

Hi everyone,

I have a question about mindfulness practice. I just came back from spending a week in nature where I did this practice continuously--noticing every single thought and sensation, no matter what I was doing. I was in a really nice place near the ocean, with no traffic or other stressful stimulation. While I was there, my meditation took on a wonderful clarity and unceasingness (I've been practicing for a couple of years) and I was aware of my mind, body, and sensations in a way I'd never been before. My mind was so clear, and I was literally aware of every single moment that passed. When I did run into people, I felt open and warm towards them, able to handle any kind of interaction with no stress whatsoever.

Now, I am back in the city and had resolved to maintain continuous awareness--only to be overwhelmed with horror and panic. I can feel the vibrations of each car that drives past on the busy street where I live. Everything looks and feels ugly and harsh. I can't look anyone in the eye and just want to hide. When I try to bring my awareness to my sensations as I did for seven days straight by the ocean, I want to bite myself and pull out my hair, the sensations of the city are so awful. I don't want to shut down my awareness, but I'm afraid I'll go crazy if I let myself experience the reality of who/what I am in the city.

Any advice most appreciated!
shargrol, modified 7 Years ago at 7/12/16 3:38 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 7/12/16 3:38 PM

RE: continuous awareness in the city is making me freak out