Developing a Good Meditative Skillset

Mettafore, modified 6 Years ago at 11/23/17 8:23 PM
Created 6 Years ago at 11/23/17 8:23 PM

Developing a Good Meditative Skillset

I posted this on my log. But, I think this also needs to be shared as an independent post.

Before lunch, I do some weight training while listening to a Dharma talk on YouTube. I got a very intersting insight from I think Ajahn Jayasaro who is in the lineage of Ajahn Chah. He explained that in their tradition,that some people couldn't attain Apamana Samadhi only Upacara Samadhi,
so they reverted to Vipassana type investigation to get deeper. Some people got good Apamana Samadhi practice going. After the mind is recharged in Samadhi, it naturally falls out of Samadhi. That is, a good time to practice investigation according to the Ajahn.

I've been practicing Metta + Anapana Shamtha practice for a few months daily. This was very much in line with my actual experience. I noticed that sometimes the mind went deep into calm. Then, it naturally came out.

Today morining (also yesterday night), after the mind no longer wanted to be in calm, I tried some gentle Vipassana practice. As I suspected, there was plenty of hindrances/defilements to work on with the added bonus of the calm previously attained. If that gets too annoying, I ussually revert to Metta phrases. Metta and other BrahmaViharas are a great subliminal medicine to administer to eradicate defilements in my opinion. The medicine simile was something I heard while listening to a Sri Lankan monk on YouTube. Also, if the energy builds up too much, a good way to use it is through walking meditation.

So, in conclusion, one can use various tools in the Yogi toolkit according to the situation and inclination of the mind. For example:
  • Metta (For daily practice such as commutes, difficult situation start of sits)
  • Anapana Shamtha (Followed by Metta)
  • Vipassana (Noting, Sitting)
  • Vipassana (Walking)