Stream entry in the Suttas vs. in the Mahasi tradition -- thoughts?

Jan met de Pet, modified 5 Years ago at 10/7/18 10:07 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 10/7/18 10:07 AM

Stream entry in the Suttas vs. in the Mahasi tradition -- thoughts?

Although I don't have much meditation experience and I am by no means an expert on buddhism, i've been interested in this community for some time now. I hope I can ask this question here. 

Most people on this forum are practicing according to the Mahasi style of vipassana. According to this tradition, stream entry occurs when a practitioner passes through the stages of insight and experiences a cessation. I am not denying that this experience is real stream entry: according what i've read from people who experienced it, it does break the fetters of self-view, doubt and belief in rituals. But it seems to be very different from the way the experience of stream entry is described in the Suttas. Consider this description of Sariputta's stream entry (Mahavagga 1.23.5):
Then Ven. Assaji gave this Dhamma exposition to Sariputta the wanderer:"Whatever phenomena arise from a cause: Their cause & their cessation. Such is the teaching of the Tathagata, the Great Contemplative."Then to Sariputta the wanderer, as he heard this exposition of Dhamma, there arose the dustless, stainless Dhamma eye: Whatever is subject to origination is all subject to cessation.
And according to Samyutta Nikaya 25.1, direct insight into impermanence is what leads to stream entry. 

In 1959, the British-born monk Nanavira Thera described his stream entry in a way that seems to conform to the descriptions in the Suttas (Nanavira wrote this in a letter addressed to another monk, whom he instructed to only open it after his death):
HOMAGE TO THE AUSPICIOUS ONE, WORTHY, FULLY AWAKENED