Meditation and its effects on memory

thumbnail
Oatmilk, modified 3 Years ago at 10/13/20 11:49 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 10/13/20 11:49 AM

Meditation and its effects on memory

Hey all, 

I was wondering lately if meditation effects mental health in a negative way. Please forgive me for my limited understanding in neuro- and cognitive science. I'm a student and study regularly for 6-8 hours a day. Due to meditation I experienced memory loss in the past and my sleep isn't really the best (aItough I take care of my sleep hygiene and really value it). I am somewhat aware that memory is related to the Hippocampus. Beta Amyloid for example is a byproduct of the brains daily functioning and when sleep is disrupted, Beta Amyloid cannot be broken down properly, which results in negative effects on the Hippocampus. Longterm sleep deprivation could therefore be a factor for Dementia. 
What I also noticed is that I have troubles with conceptual undertstanding in some cases (ofc understanding complex concepts can be hard for everyone) but usually concepts feel just like sensory input instead of >>real<< - objective information (eg. as I am typing this I'm looking at my computer in front of me but instead of  'this is a computer' I perceive information in terms of colors and shapes.  

I'm interested in your opinions and what you think about the relationship between menatl health and meditation (with mental help I refer to cognition, not to psychopathology). 

Thanks much! 

-O 
thumbnail
terry, modified 3 Years ago at 10/13/20 12:56 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 10/13/20 12:56 PM

RE: Meditation and its effects on memory

Oatmilk:
Hey all,