Sheldon's Meditation Journal

thumbnail
Sheldon Frith Nicholson, modified 11 Years ago at 11/29/12 1:01 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 11/29/12 1:01 PM

Sheldon's Meditation Journal

Hi, this is my first post on the DhO! I'm not sure if anyone will read this but it seems like a good idea to keep a journal like this for my own purposes any ways.
*Because I am making this primarily for my own purposes it probably won't be well written or organised, sorry.

Background Info on Me:
I am, currently, an ABSOLUTE BEGINNER. I'm 19, not in school, working part-time.
I grew up in Brasil, my parents were Baptist missionaries there. Obviously my upbringing was strictly evangelical christian.
When I was 11 we moved to Ontario, Canada. Sometime around 2008/9 I became disenchanted with "the church" and "God" in general. I think this came about because of my relentless desire to know what is true, or maybe to just know more than anyone else. Whatever it was, I am incredibly thankful for it!
A year later, or so, my parents split up.

In 2010 I was really feeling empty, since I had lost "God". So I turned to philosophy in the hopes that it could show me meaning. From then until August 2012 was pretty much one long existential crisis for me. I was trying to think, and conceptualize my way to the truth (at the same time I was employing a wide variety of the usual distractions to stave off the meaninglessness). After a while I kind of realized that logic, reason, western philosophy do NOT lead to meaning of any sort. So I gave up for a while and just tried not to think too deeply.
thumbnail
Sheldon Frith Nicholson, modified 11 Years ago at 11/29/12 5:15 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 11/29/12 2:20 PM

2. Lead-up to My Interest in Meditation

Life Changing Experience

*Oh, I forgot to mention that in December 2011 I moved to Victoria, BC, Canada. That is where I am now.