Location on Body To Note?

thumbnail
Peter Christopher White, modified 13 Years ago at 11/20/10 4:00 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 11/20/10 4:00 PM

Location on Body To Note?

I've been practicing regularly for almost three years (two hours a day) after doing a Goenka retreat in January 2008. My concentration improved incredibly just a week after reading MCTB this August, and after following the advice here. I been getting into the jhannas quite quickly, almost as soon as I sit on the cushion.

I had been doing body scanning (ala Goenka) but decided to try Mahasi noting because of the recommendations about its effectiveness for obtaining Stream Entry. I understand, note everything that comes up. But:

When noting sensations, where on the body should I focus, narrowly (like on a finger tip or the for me ever active back of the neck), or a broadly (perceiving the whole body field)?

Can or should my attention go around the body (like a body scan) noting whatever comes up?

Any advice helpful, thanks in advance-
thumbnail
tarin greco, modified 13 Years ago at 11/20/10 7:54 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 11/20/10 7:49 PM

RE: Location on Body To Note? (Answer)

Peter Christopher White:

I had been doing body scanning (ala Goenka) but decided to try Mahasi noting because of the recommendations about its effectiveness for obtaining Stream Entry. I understand, note everything that comes up. But:

When noting sensations, where on the body should I focus, narrowly (like on a finger tip or the for me ever active back of the neck), or a broadly (perceiving the whole body field)?

Can or should my attention go around the body (like a body scan) noting whatever comes up?

Any advice helpful, thanks in advance-