Daily practice & prioritising a type of practice

thumbnail
Matthew O'Connell, modified 13 Years ago at 12/22/10 4:40 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 12/22/10 4:40 AM

Daily practice & prioritising a type of practice

Hi Guys,
I'm new here. I found my way via Buddhist Geeks and Daniel's book. By the way Bruno, can't wait to read 'The Truth' when it comes out. Perhaps you'll be the co-author?

I've been meditating on and off for around twelve years. I started off with fairly esoteric Tibetan traditions in the UK and then got fed up with various aspects of the tradition and have focused on basic breathing mediation and centring since then. I live in Italy now and am married with a young son so dedicating lots of time to practice is difficult. I can usually do two half-hour sessions a day and organising a short retreat each year is certainly doable and the idea of doing a solo retreat is relay attractive to me. I have done retreats with the Goenka crowd here in Italy in the past.
I'm writing because with the availability I have I am a little unsure about which particular technique to focus on. I have read way too many dharma books over the years and have too many techniques rolling around in my noggin.
I have been walking a shamanistic path for a long old time which has helped me gain a healthy psyche and confront a lot of those niggling psychological and inter-personal issues that I was certainly bogged down with in my twenties and I feel confident enough to say that I am emotionally and psychologically stable and more mature and very much dedicated to waking up without needing to get caught up in personal 'stuff'. Although I have limited time I am stable enough to be able to dedicate myself fully to that time.

Over the last year I have been able to quiet the mind successfully for say 5 minute periods with almost no absorbing thoughts and when thought does come I don't get attached. I have a fairly good level of clarity.