Mahasi Sayadaw vs. Daniel Ingram Vipassana

thumbnail
Eli Sanchez, modified 1 Year ago at 8/29/22 3:22 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 8/29/22 3:22 PM

Mahasi Sayadaw vs. Daniel Ingram Vipassana

I'm relatively new to vipassana and am still playing around with technique a bit. I got started with Daniel Ingram's MCTB2 and Mahasi Sayadaw's Manual of Insight. I've noticed that the techniques each describe are quite different. Daniel's method, as I understand it, is to be aware of as many incoming sensations as possible without applying labels to the sensations, the primary emphasis being on quantity. Mahasi recommends focusing on, and studying, individual sensations much more carefully and applying very simple descriptive labels to each, with the emphasis more on the depth to which individual sensations are studied rather than the quantity of sensations.

I've given each a try and have found that I prefer Daniel's method a bit more, for the simple reason that I feel it has dramatically increased my awareness of my feelings (physical and mental) during daily life in a very short span of time. I have not found it more conducive to attainments, of which I have none.

My question is this: I believe that Mahasi Sayadaw's method is much more widely-practiced. I am wondering if there is a reason for this? I.e. is it a better starting point? Does it help develop faculties that I am neclecting by practicing Daniel's method as a beginner?

Further, I'm wondering if anyone has written about Daniel's method, aside from Daniel himself as I've already read most of MCTB2. I believe he attributes this method to instructions from U Pandita Jr. However, I'm not aware of any of his writings.

Basically, I'd just like a compare/contrast or pro/con list for these two vipassana methods.

Thanks emoticon

Eli
thumbnail
Chris M, modified 1 Year ago at 8/29/22 4:04 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 8/29/22 4:04 PM

RE: Mahasi Sayadaw vs. Daniel Ingram Vipassana